50 Kisses

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

For those of you that don’t know, ’50 Kisses’ was the name of this year’s screenwriting competition for the London Screenwriting Festival. If you follow my blog, you’ll know I entered last year’s competition ‘Four Nights in August’  and made it down to the final 12 with my submission ‘You’ (there’s a link to the script in the post ‘Four Nights in August’). So this year, the brief was to write a 2 page script that was set on Valentine’s day and featured at least one kiss. Everyone was allowed to submit two entries and there were 1870 scripts sent in total. Out of this number, the competition organisers would choose 50 winners – their scripts would then be made public for filmmakers to take and produce with the aim to combine the best and create a feature length film that would get a theatrical release. To find out more about the competition, you can visit the website by clicking the lips below – on there they explain things much better than I do.

Anyway, I entered two scripts and was delighted when they both featured on the ‘longlist’. Then, when the final winners were announced, I was informed that one of my scripts had made the shortlist (the last 100). I was pleased. Obviously I wanted to be one of the 50 winners, but to get down to the shortlist again was a real confidence booster.

For anyone that’s interested in reading my submissions, you can do so by clicking the links below.

‘Valentino’ by Dom Brancaleone and ‘Chocolates for Nan’ by Dom Brancaleone

‘Chocolates for Nan’ was the script that made it through to the shortlist. If you have a spare minute, feel free to read and post any comments/feedback – or just read and say nothing. Alternatively, don’t read them at all, but you’ve come this far – so you might as well!

Now it’s back to business for me – tweaking my feature script and cracking on with pages for the collaborative feature I introduced in my previous post. Busy times ahead, but hopefully exciting ones too. I would strongly recommend that any budding filmmakers give making one of the chosen fifty scripts a go – for the chance to see your short as part of a feature with a theatrical release, it would be well worth the time and effort. If I can find the time, I’ll be making one myself!

Lastly, congratulations to the winners of 50 Kisses, but also hats off to the team that took on the mammoth task of reading all the scripts, judging them, and then analysing them to make sure the 50 chosen worked together as a feature.

Until next time, stay cool…

Peace x

Leave a Reply

