I’ve been TAGGED!!!

Posted: March 19, 2012 in Uncategorized


So I haven’t blogged in AGES, but I do have a post half written that I’ll be putting out in the next week or so. Before I do, I thought I’d answer a series of questions I was asked by a fellow blogger…a bit of fun, I guess. If you do read (or know of) my blog, you’ll know my posts can be pretty epic at times – although this is meant to be a way of divulging a little info about ‘the real me’, I wouldn’t want to disappoint my critics by giving them something quick and easy to read. I’d also rate myself as a ‘novice’ blogger, so being ‘tagged’ is all new to me and hopefully I won’t make myself look stupid with any blogging faux pas. So, in an attempt to give you an insight into my ‘real’ world, here are the answers to JJ Cocker’s questions…

1. What is the best thing about where you live? 

The sea. I live in Bournemouth and have previously posted a pic of where I live – here it is again…

And this is the view from our garden.

I love Bournemouth for many reasons, but the sea is the one thing I’d miss more than anything if I was to move inland. I surf (on the rare occasion there are waves) and row on the sea, so it’s quite a big part of my life. I also like knowing it’s close by – a bit like a comfort blanket, but a damp one.

2. If you could be anyone you wanted to be, other than yourself, who would you be? 

This is a tough one. I can’t narrow it down to a single person – I’m far too indecisive and analytical, so I’ll outline the characteristics I’d like and maybe you can tell me who it is? I’d like to be someone with enough influence to make a positive change for humanity. I wouldn’t want to be famous, but I would like to know that whatever I did with my life would have a positive impact on society.

3. What is your favourite item of clothing? 

I’m a big fan of trainers – Vans, Adidas hi-tops, Converse etc. so I do like my collection of trainers, but I’d have to say my favourite item of clothing is my pair of grey, baggy tracksuit bottoms (‘trackies’ to the kids). Not because they look good or have any sentimental value, but simply because I only ever wear them in the flat and they make me feel relaxed, comfortable and always get me in the mood for writing or editing.

4. Who, or what, inspires you the most? 

Music inspires me. Any type of music can touch a nerve and inspire ideas, invoke memories and provoke a number of emotions within me. Other than music, one thing that really inspires me is simply talking to likeminded people. Workshops and festivals are great for meeting individuals or groups that are passionate about a particular topic, but just talking to friends and family that share similar ambitions is inspiring. My parents have always inspired me too, both in different ways…but I’ll save that for another blog.

5. Do you use public transport? 

Yes. Bus, train, coach – I got rid of my car last year and cycle most places, but use trains and coaches for long journeys and the bus for getting to work when the weather’s bad. I like getting the coach to London – no worrying about parking, being able to have a drink etc. The local bus I’m not so keen on. I wrote a one-off drama about a criminal that uses bus journeys to choose his victims…I’m not sure what that says about my feelings towards them, but they do creep me out a bit.

6. What is most likely to set off the fire alarm at home? 

This is an easy one – my flat mate Leigh cooking his steak. He’s a big fan of steak. Below is a picture of him at Steakout in Bournemouth about to embark on the £50 Steakout Challenge…50oz of meat and 2 sides for £50, and you get it free if you eat it all in 40mins. He tried, but didn’t succeed.



7. What do you do to stay healthy? 

I row. I train at least 4 times a week and I also cycle to work most days – it’s not great in the winter, but summer will soon be here and there’s nothing like riding to work along the beach every day. I also think it’s important to keep your mind healthy, and time out with friends, family and loved ones is vital for this (in my opinion).

8. If you could pass one new law, what would it be? 

I can think of loads! Is that a bad? It’s not that I have some sort of dictator mentality; I just think there are people in society that take advantage of the system and are allowed to get away with it because they’re in a position of power. I think I would have to pass a law that gives ‘the people’ more power – any major policy change or government decision (like sending our troops into battle) should be put to a public vote and the result have a direct impact on the resolution.

9. Is there a uniform that grabs your attention? 

Crap ones. Mainly because I think of all the horrendous ‘uniforms’ I’ve had to wear over the years in various retail jobs. Now that I write full time, I can wear what I want (within reason) and I look at anyone wearing a hideous uniform and just feel sorry for them. Years ago I used to work for Sainsbury’s, and because I worked in the chiller section we were given these awful bright orange fleeces (see below). All I can say is, thank goodness camera phones weren’t about then.


10. If you had to choose between who you love and what you love doing, what would win?

I know this is a bit of a cop out, but I don’t think you should ever have to choose. I’m fortunate that the people I love also love that I’m passionate about what I do. However, it’s very hard to love someone that makes you question what you do – so for that reason, I think you should always choose what you love doing and then you’ll find someone who loves you for that. I’m not sure if that really answers the question, but that’s what I think.

11. What is your best time of day?

Sunset, for sure. Give me a sunset, music, a glass of wine or a beer and I’m in heaven.

Well that’s all the questions answered. Until the next blog, or the next set of questions I get asked, I wish you all the best!

Peace x

Comments
  1. JJ Cocker says:

    Thanks for answering, Dom. It’s always good to see a glimpse of a real person behind a creative hub!

    “I wouldn’t want to be famous, but I would like to know that whatever I did with my life would have a positive impact on society.” Me too!

Leave a Reply

